Kangra Himachal Pradesh

Welcome to Kangra Himachal Pradesh!

Kangra, situated in the picturesque Dhauladhar range on the southern edge of Himachal Pradesh, is known for its gentle slopes covered with deodar forests, orchards, tea gardens, and terraced fields.

The dramatic backdrop of the Dhauladhar, the snowy peaks, and the lush green valley’s create a breathtaking panorama, making it one of the most beautiful valleys in Himachal Pradesh.

Kangra Himachal Pradesh

Administrative Hub: Dharamshala

Dharamshala, the administrative headquarters, is not only scenically captivating but also reaches an elevation of up to 1700 meters. Kangra is the most popular district among the 12 districts in Himachal Pradesh, with Dharamshala serving as its administrative capital, located 18 kilometers from Kangra city.

Both Kangra and Dharamshala are significant tourist destinations, renowned for their ancient temples and scenic landscapes.

History of Kangra Himachal Pradesh

Kangra is known for its rich history, tracing back to the ancient royal Katoch dynasty. In 1846, it became a district of British India after the conclusion of the Anglo-Sikh War. The district initially included Kangra, Hamirpur, Kullu, and Lahaul-Spiti.

Kangra served as the administrative headquarters initially but was later shifted to Dharamshala in 1855. After India gained independence in 1947, Kangra became part of the Indian state of Punjab and later emerged as the largest district. However, in 1966, Kangra became part of the newly formed state of Himachal Pradesh.

Geographical Location of Kangra

Landscape and Diversity

Kangra district, spanning 5,739 square kilometers, constitutes 10.31% of Himachal Pradesh’s geographical area. The district showcases a diverse population, including Hindus, Muslims, Buddhists, Sikhs, Christians, and Jains. With elevations ranging from 427 to 6401 meters above sea level, Kangra shares borders with Gurudaspur district in Punjab to the west, Una district to the south, and Mandi district to the east.

Notable Features

The district is divided into five sub-divisions based on its diverse topography and land use patterns: Pir Panjal, Dhauladhar, Kangra Valley, Kangra Shivalik, and Bias Basin.

Temples and Tourist Attractions in Kangra Himachal Pradesh

Find below the list of Temples and Tourist Places in Kangra Himachal Pradesh

1. Jwalamukhi Temple

The Jwalamukhi Temple, also known as Jwala Ji Temple, is famous for its ancient shrine dedicated to the goddess Jwala. The temple features natural gas flames that are considered sacred.

2. Brajeshwari Devi Temple

The Brajeshwari Devi Temple, located in Kangra, is renowned for its historical and religious significance. It attracts devotees and tourists alike.

3. Chamunda Devi Temple

Nestled in the Dhauladhar range, the Chamunda Devi Temple offers a spiritual retreat with its serene surroundings and ancient architecture.

4. Chintpurni Temple

The Chintpurni Temple, dedicated to Goddess Chinnamastika, is a revered pilgrimage site, drawing devotees seeking blessings and solace.

5. Baijnath Temple

The Baijnath Temple, dedicated to Lord Shiva, is an ancient structure with intricate carvings, reflecting the architectural prowess of the bygone era.

6. Other Attractions

Apart from temples, Kangra boasts attractions like Maharana Pratap Sagar Sanctuary and the town of Kangra itself. The Tibetan colonies in Dharamshala, Sidhbari, Rewalsar, and Bir house significant Buddhist temples. Historical villages like Pragpur and Garli add to the cultural and architectural richness of the region.

Explore Kangra to witness a harmonious blend of history, spirituality, and natural beauty!